Adventures In Digital Series Land – Chapter 106: How Tennis Saved My Pitch Meeting

220px-Tennis_Racket_and_Balls

I am a tennis fanatic. Love to watch matches, love to play.  Did I mention I kinda suck at it? Ok, maybe not suck, but…I’m inexperienced.  Been playing for about five or six years (just working on my strokes) but only started playing games last year. And found out the hard way that playing games is dramatically different than just hitting a ball around.  Aside from strategy and learning different shots that are game-specific, there’s the pressure.  And it is insane. You’re dealing with ego (mostly your own: OMG, am I gonna fail?), stage-fright (OMG, everyone’s gonna see me fail!!!) and fear of failure (OMG everyone just saw me fail!!!)  But I really really really wanna get better and feel I have the potential to, ultimately, be a good player. So I’m sticking with it.

A week ago I found myself prepping for a pitch meeting. And the same fears I have with tennis were cropping up (yeah, the fear of failure thing). The worst thing you can do in a pitch meeting is have them see you sweat. I mean, who wants to buy something from someone who’s nervous about their project?

I’ve taken a ton of pitch meetings and normally don’t get nervous about them anymore because I’ve been told I’m “good in a room” but since I’ve been holed up a while writing/animating a bunch of new stuff, it somehow felt new.  And I had a butterflies.

I ended up doing a trick that a tennis buddy taught me: Walk the walk.  Meaning, act as if you’re totally confident. And ultimately, you will be.  I’ve started doing that while playing tennis and you know what? It works. I’m gaining confidence, feeling less pressure, not caring about failing and thinking I’m going to win. And I mostly am winning.

And it worked for the pitch meeting. I walked in with my partner and killed it! Don’t know what’s going to happen (I’ve walked in a killed a ton a meetings and they still passed–it’s very rare when they don’t at this stage) but it was a relief to rise above my fears and knock it out the park. I feel like I’m really back in the game.

Walk the walk, people!

~ by chilltowntv on July 10, 2015.

3 Responses to “Adventures In Digital Series Land – Chapter 106: How Tennis Saved My Pitch Meeting”

  1. Reblogged this on Sketch Block Podcast.

  2. Great article Leesa Dean – advice everyone can use!

Leave a Reply

 
