Adventures of a Web Series Newbie – Chapter 67 – YouTube NYC

YouTube_logo_standard_white

 

I live in NYC and when I launched my first web series on YouTube, one of the first things I did was become a part of the YouTube NYC community.  I’ve written a little about it here a while back and it’s great.

They have free classes which have been invaluable.  I not only got great tips about branding building online, but production tips.  It’s part of the reason I decided to pick up a camera and start exploring film (in addition to animation).  They also have facilities for filming (like great green screen rooms) and editing and it’s all free.  When I started, the only thing you needed to take advantage of all this great stuff was be a YouTube partner and if you’re releasing videos on a regular basis, you do become one.

One of the reasons YouTube NYC was great was Chris Chan Roberson.  He was the studio manager and not only ran things but put together great workshops and was incredibly helpful technically.  He really knows his way around cameras, audio equipment and editing software.

I found out this week that he’s leaving.  Sigh.  He really will be missed and I owe him a lot.

When I took my first film production class, half of what the instructor said sounded familiar.  Why?  Cause I had taken copious notes during some of Chris’ workshops and while some of the stuff was over my head and geared towards shooters (which I decidedly wasn’t at the time), I knew at some point, the information would come in handy.  And boy did it.

I hope whoever they get to take his place is just as good but his shoes are gonna be hard to fill.

This August I’m attending a few workshops there (they haven’t officially opened the new facilities but are having workshops nonetheless) and can’t wait to see who will be running things.

Meanwhile, gearing up for the Directing Motion workshop this Sunday.  Can’t wait to take it (it’s gonna be an intense 12 hour day!!!) and tell you guys about it.

See you next week.

~ by chilltowntv on July 11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
