Writing Process Blog Tour

Writing Process Blog Tour

I was asked by my friend (and fellow NYWIFT member) journalist/writer Janet Stilson to participate in a writer’s process blog tour. Janet regularly writes for Adweek, Variety and other entertainment/media outlets. She’s also writing/producing a movie and writing novel. We’ve been friends for a while and is always engaging, interesting and fun to hang out with her. I was thrilled she asked me to participate. The idea is, you answer four questions about your craft and introduce your readers to three new writers. So, here it goes:

WHAT AM I WORKING ON: Currently working on Season Two of the Lele Show, two new pilots–one animated and one live action–and an animated short.

HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE: It has, I believe, a very specific sense of humor, tone and sensibility–mine–that I hope shines through.

WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO? I write about things, people and situations in my life that have captured my imagination and skew it all into fiction. Initially, I created Chilltown because I felt that the way hip-hop was portrayed by the media didn’t reflect who I was or who my friends were. The media just showed gang bangers/violence/ignorance and I wanted to address that by portraying normal people with real everyday problems who happened to be hip-hop heads.  Fundamentally though, if I find something entertaining or interesting, it’s a place I want to live in. It’s thrilling and fun to revisit those places/people over and over again while I’m writing–even though it’s all in my imagination.

HOW DOES YOUR WRITING PROCESS WORK: I write tons and tons of notes which ultimately get shaped into an outline. First a rough, then a very very specific one, including key dialogue snippets. I do a first draft. Then, usually about 2 or 3 rewrites (ok, maybe 8 or 9 rewrites).  When I’m starting a new series, I always start with characters first.  If it’s animated, I always think of ideas for characters and the way they look simultaneously.  I normally sketch out a few character ideas initially so I have a visual in my brain as I continue to develop the show.

Finally, here are three writer friends who I think are smart, talented, inspiring and inspire me:

Jamie Broadnax is the writer and creator of the niche blogsite for nerdy women of color called Black Girl Nerds. She currently creates content along with a team of contributors about a myriad of topics that speaks to the geek community. The blogsite has a weekly podcast and has a large loyal following of nerds of all races and men alike. Jamie has written for Madame Noire and has been recognized by the Black Weblog Awards as the New Blogger on the Block. Jamie has a Master’s Degree in Film and Marketing and considers herself a social media geek. In her spare time she enjoys writing, reading, and live-tweeting her favorite TV shows. She currently lives in Virginia Beach, VA and has an adorable beagle named Brandy. http://www.blackgirlnerds.com/ and http://www.twitter.com/blackgirlnerds

Shameika Rene’ is a journalist of all trades. She can usually be found producing television news and writing for various websites such as Charlotte Vibe, Creative Loafing, Mosaic Magazine Charlotte, or her own websites, www.themofochronicles.com and www.conversationswithmeik.blogspot.com. Follow her on Twitter @mofochronicles.

Before her off-beat comedy web series The Louise Log, Anne Flournoy wrote and directed shorts and a feature film which played in festivals from Sundance to Berlin. She’s a Guggenheim Fellow. Her blog frequently talks about the trials and tribulations of putting out an indie web series. http://thelouiselog.com/blog/the-process-of-writing

~ by chilltowntv on May 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
