Adventures of a Web Series Newbie – Chapter 30: A3C!!!!!

Adventures of a Web Series Newbie - Chapter 30: A3C!!!!!

Sunday morning, 10am I fly down to Atlanta for the Chilltown screening at A3C and I am officially THRILLED! And yes, that means I have to be up at 5am so I can get dressed/to the airport on time. As an official late night person, the fact that I have to be up that early and it doesn’t even phase me let’s you know exactly how excited I am about this.

I reformatted Chilltown so it’s now HD (perfect for a big screen) and strung the episodes together. They wanted to show all of Season One. Since it’s a semi-serialized show, the story arcs extend through the Season so it lends itself naturally to being seen that way. The guy who’s running the film part of the festival, Charles Judson, is also the artistic director of the Atlanta Film Festival and A3C is affiliated with it. It really feels great that somebody of his stature loves the show.

A few nights ago, I did an interview with Jah Prince who has a hip-hop radio show in Atlanta and has been promoting the festival a bit. It was my second time on the show. He’s a big Chilltown fan. After the interview, we chatted and he’s coming to the screening and will bring some people.

Also, an Atlanta friend (who I haven’t yet met in person–we have friends in common and became FB buddies), Lyn Adler, is coming with her fiance.

So it’s extra exciting that they’ll all be there and I get to meet them in person!

It’s going to be a whirlwind trip. I arrive at 12:40, the screening is at 2pm and I fly back to NYC at 7pm. Just enough time to get to the venue, watch the show, do the Q&A, hang out with Lyn, her fiance and Jah and make it back.

A number of people have asked why I’m not staying for a couple of days. First of all, I’m simply too busy. I’m still working on this extra project which takes up a huge amount of time (aside from also being the planning stages for Season Two of Lele Show and Chilltown relaunch), I’m booked solidly so I’m literally squeezing this in.

Also, since part of the reason for the blog is to show what things are really like as an indie person, I’ll add this (which a lot of people don’t realize): When you go to festivals, you (as the filmmaker) are responsible for your expenses. Yeah, they’re a tax write-off, but as an indie person and especially an indie web person, things can add up. I’m fortunate that this, relatively, is a pretty cheap trip. A NYC to ATL flight doesn’t cost a fortune, Lyn and her fiance will be giving me a ride back to the airport in ATL and I’m not staying at a hotel. I’ve known indie filmmakers who have literally spent close to $10,000 flying around to festivals. If you’re reading this and considering submitting to festivals, it’s definitely something to consider.

So wish me luck! I’ll let you guys know how it went next week.

~ by chilltowntv on October 4, 2013.

One Response to “Adventures of a Web Series Newbie – Chapter 30: A3C!!!!!”

  1. […] Chapter 30: A3 C!!!!! by Leesa Dean […]

Leave a Reply

 
