Adventures of a Web Series Newbie – Chapter 20: Balls in the Air (It’s Not What You Think)

Adventures of a Web Series Newbie - Chapter 20: Balls in the Air (It's Not What You Think)

Two days ago I launched the Season Finale of Chilltown. At first, I was mega excited. It’s (mostly) been a thrilling ride and I’m proud of the work I did. But then something happened I really didn’t expect: I started feeling a bit sad.

I have no idea if I’ll be able to finance Season 2. And mostly, I just don’t want it to end. Even with the ridiculous amount of work and some of the ups and downs, it really is so. much. fun. And exciting. Animation involves a HUGE amount of work; way more than live action. It’s not like picking up a camera and going for it. It takes a long time to execute. If I did it all myself again, it would probably take about a year and half, if I did it full-time, which I can’t do. I need a crew, even if it’s a mini one. And I need financing for that to happen.

I am putting together a special version of Chilltown that I hope people will like (it goes live in the Fall) and I do have a number of irons in the fire for possible financing, but nothing is guaranteed for Season 2. Yet. I haven’t written off crowd-sourcing, but want to get a bigger fan base before I attempt it (if I do.)

So I did an old writer’s trick to feel better (no, it didn’t involve Jack Daniels neat!): I jumped into another project with both feet.

When I was just writing and pitching, I found that waiting to hear if a studio/company/network was going to pass or buy something was just agonizing. If I threw myself into other projects, it minimized the importance of one script. When you’re juggling a lot of balls in the air, you have a better probability of something hitting and it hurts less if something doesn’t. I came to that naturally. And later found out that most other writers (especially the really successful ones) all do it. It’s self-preservation.

Don’t get me wrong. I still have a ton of Chilltown (and Lele’s Ratchet Advice Show) stuff I’m working on. And am really exciting about what’s going to jump off in the Fall. But I’m also starting to spread out a bit more.

~ by chilltowntv on June 29, 2013.

One Response to “Adventures of a Web Series Newbie – Chapter 20: Balls in the Air (It’s Not What You Think)”

  1. […] Chapter 20: Balls in the Air (It’s Not What You Think) by Leesa Dean […]

Leave a Reply

 
